The Story of Laura Fortin

What is the best thing that I love about my work?  Painting involves my body and my brain, it’s a trip through my story. When I paint I become a mirror between reality and my sub-conscious.

What is my idea of perfect happiness?  An empty beach with warm bright water

What is my greatest fear?  Not to be able to talk about the malaise that I feel in human beings

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself?  impulsivity

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? Chantal Joffe

What is my greatest extravagance?  I only wear black

On what occasion would I lie?  For not offending someone in a nasty way

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work?  The slowness of the growth

When and where was I the happiest, in my work?  Everytime I tell the truth

If I could, what would I change about myself?  My insecurity

What is my greatest achievement in work?  A final in an important prize

Where would I most like to live?  Turin, my town

What is my most treasured possession? Even if is not really possession, I might say my husband

What is my most marked characteristic? I talk about the female, I investigate the feminine in its hidden part, which women want to hide

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? My home

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? A gourmet cheap reastaurant, near my home

What books influenced my life and how? Uno nessuno centomila by Luigi Pirandello, for the great work in identity, 1984 by George Orwell for the atmosphere, Tropic of Cancer for the decadence.

Who are my favorite writers? Classics, mostly and much poetry

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? A love supreme by John Coltrane

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction?  Patti Smith

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime?  Out of the blue, by Dennis Hopper

What role plays art in my life and work? It keeps me alive

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime?  My husband

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? with a good gallery

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2018? Danica Laundy

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on?  A 2 meter per 1,4 meter canvas

Where can you see me or my work in 2018? follow my instagram, you will be updated

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? Passion is the strength that keeps us alive and never retires

Which creative heroines should Peter invite to tell their story? Romina Bassu

How can you contact me? https://www.instagram.com/elleundeffe/

Leave a comment