The Story of Linda Sofia Randazzo

What is the best thing that I love about my work? In order to realize freely and without the permission of anyone my idea.

What is my idea of perfect happiness? Power live at once the feeling of freedom, knowledge, good health, irony, passion, poetry, beauty, nature, truth, hope.

What is my greatest fear? The passage of time. I’m afraid I can’t paint enough works to be able to be satisfied with my art before i die.

What is the trait that I most deplore in myself? Anxiety.

Which living persons in my profession do i most admire? All those artists who have failed to be famous, but they continue to struggle to live their passion.

What is my greatest extravagance? Discipline.

On what occasion would I lie? More often!

What is the thing that I dislike the most in my work? The loneliness and the fact that in my country the Italy artists are treated as social outcasts.

When and where was I the happiest, in my work? When I studied the first years at the Academy of fine arts, because I had in comparison with others no performance anxiety.

If I could, what would I change about myself? Almost everything. My story, my childhood traumas, fears my loves. My naivete.

What is my greatest achievement in work?  Having seen people cry of emotion in front of my paintings.

Where would I most like to live? I don’t know, but definitely in a place whose natural beauty is not contaminated by the brutal hands of man.

What is my most treasured possession? The will to change and to live, an inexplicable force that makes me win my own free wistfulness.

What is my most marked characteristic? The stubbornness mental speculation.

What is my most inspirational location, in my city? Near the sea, in the small fishing ports, on the beaches of the city.

What is my favourite place to eat and drink, in my city? The Tavernaccia by Mario!!

What books influenced my life and how? The book of disquiet by Pessoa, because poetry is music,music is painting, writing is a sign and drawing, writing is spawning. The dance of reality by Jodorowskj because you have to redraw the family tree, the theatre and its double of Artaud, the Symposium of Plato, and many other books.

Who are my favorite writers? Thomas Mann, Pessoa, Artaud, Calvino, Guenon, Zola, Neruda.

You Only Die Once. What music would I listen on my last day? Mahler Symphony No 5 Adagietto

Who is my hero or heroine in fiction? Snoopy

Who are my heroes and heroines in real life? The woman next door. The grocer!

Which movie would i recommend to see once in a lifetime? Walt Disney’s Fantasia.

What role plays art in my life and work? In my life art has the most important role and I’m trying to turn it into a real job security.

Who is my greatest fan, sponsor, partner in crime? My mother!

Whom would I like to work with in 2018? I would love to travel and meet artists older than me to meet, learn and have most sincere partners of those I met here. I’d like to find a good art gallery outside of Palermo with which to create a lasting and professional working relationship at the international level.

Which people in my profession would i love to meet in 2018? I don’t know,  I let it over to fate!

What project, in 2018, am I looking forward to work on? I would make a great solo exhibition with my latest works,the result of a long process that still have not completed.

Where can you see me or my work in 2018? In my studio in Palermo in the heart of the ancient city, the Vucciria market you can see my works in creation.

What do the words “Passion Never Retires” mean to me? It means that many people do not know themselves and their own desire and they will never accomplish themselves and be happy. These people are slaves to impositions of capitalist society, they’ll do work they do not love. The passion requires sacrifice, suffering, poverty and exclusion sometimes. Especially if what you want to accomplish is not contemplated in need of greater power. Passion is a risk and a salvation, because from the tragic sense of life, life that is destined to end. The passion from meaning to life and leaves an indelible mark and universal equal for everyone in the bottom of the human heart.

 

Leave a comment